them bones

A bump on the head used to mean just that — a bump on the head. It might hurt for a few days, but then it’s gone. But with age, a bump on the head turns into pressure along the spine, lower back pain, sciatica, headaches, and all sorts of aches that I hadn’t thought were connected to my head.

The toe bone connected to the foot bone,
The foot bone connected to the leg bone,
The leg bone connected to the knee bone,
Now hear the word of the lord.

On the last day of 5th grade, I wanted desperately to play softball with the boys on the playground. When they weren’t willing to let me join them, I inserted myself between the catcher and the batter — I can’t for the life of me remember what I was trying to do. The result was that the batter connected the bat to my forehead which left me with a nasty bump on the head that lasted all summer long. The bump raised my bangs on one side, slanting them at a not-unfashionable angle for these days, but it was clearly unnatural for those days. The bump turned black and blue, gravity drew the purplish hue down over both of my eyes, and the bump slowly spread out and faded to a very unpleasant greenish gray. But that was the end of it. A bump on the head with a little discoloration for a few weeks.

Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Them bones, them bones, them dry bones.
Now hear the word of the Lord.

Anonymous

Last Sunday we went to Home Depot to pick up some plants for the balcony. On the way back to the car, I had to squeeze through a small gap at the entrance because a family was loading their purchases into a van right there. I didn’t notice that the van’s raised door didn’t quite exceed my height. Wham! A bump on the head. It hurt a little as I walked away. Pressure from my palm on the bump helped. But I hadn’t expected the lower back pain I’ve been experiencing since then.

Musculoskeletal pain is pain that affects the muscles, ligaments and tendons, along with the bones.

Web MD.com

I walk a lot slower these days. It just hurts too much to walk at my normal pace. And this afternoon when I caught the edge of the sole of my shoe on the floor as I walked down the corridor, causing a little footwork stutter, I had to refrain from calling out as the pain shot through my whole body.

I hadn’t expected this part of getting older. Wrinkles, dry skin. . .sure, they are in the commercials all the time. But I’m not ready for a cane or walker yet.

More on musculoskeletal pain from Web MD.

Leave a Reply

