is he kidding?

All my problems with paroxysmal supraventricular tachycardia have been addressed, or at least I think so. I will know more in a couple of weeks. Here is why I think the problems are now gone: I wore a heart monitor for a month, during which time I spent three days in the hospital while the cardiologists and electrophysiologists explored possible reasons for an extended ventricular tachycardia, or V-tach, event the monitor detected that I didn’t even feel. Following that, I wore another type of monitor, a Zio Patch, for two weeks, after which I had an electrophysiology study that concluded with a catheter ablation to kill the cells that have been sending the extra signals that have caused my heart to beat so rapidly.So I was a little surprised to get a phone call from the company that provided the one of the monitors. My husband took the message and told me it was important that I return the call because the guy had some information for me. I was in the middle of a work phone call but that didn’t prevent me from speculating on what that news might be. I didn’t know which of the two companies the call came from. The first one sent signals from the monitor for the month I wore it which is how my doctor knew there was an extended V-tach. The Zio Patch recorded my heart activity, but the results weren’t transmitted. I had to send the device back so the results could be downloaded and interpreted. I assumed the call was from the second company.

It wasn’t. It was from the first. And it had nothing to do monitoring my heart, or at least not directly. The man from the company wanted to let me know that they also provide monitors for individuals, the kind that can be worn around the neck so that if I fall I can press a button and say, “Help, I’ve fallen and I can’t get up.” He suggested that getting such a monitor would help me continue to live independently.

Was he kidding me? I politely told him I was about 20 years away from expecting to have to address whether I can continue living independently, based on my parents’ genes.

Maybe I just don’t get it because I haven’t felt ill or diminished in any way during this process. And then I suspect I am getting all this attention solely because I have passed the age for qualifying for Medicare.  It seems to be a badge that indicates I am falling apart.

We’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

