fireside chat with audrey kletscher helbling

Today’s Daily Prompt from WordPress is “What person whom you don’t know very well in real life would you like to have over for a long chat in which they tell you their life story?”

Since taking part in WordPress Blogging 101 last November, I have been following a number of bloggers, all of whom provide food-for-thought on a variety of topics. But I find myself drawn most often to Audrey Kletscher Helbling’s blog Minnesota Prairie Roots. Reading her posts feels like sitting at the kitchen table across from a friend, with a fresh cup of steaming coffee and a piece of apple crisp in front of each of us. There is so much to look forward to: the warmth of the coffee, the taste of cinnamon and apples, and the promise of an interesting conversation.

Audrey’s posts include photos of everyday items – buildings she passes frequently, especially when she notices changes, such as the changes in a small town in Wisconsin. She includes photos of people, people who may otherwise may be unnoticed, people like Layton Fossum whose positive attitude inspired those around him during his too short life. Audrey’s posts remind me of home, the home I couldn’t wait to get away from for the first 20 years of my life and that I find myself longing for now that the average life expectancy of my ancestors indicate I am likely in the last 20 years of my life.

Audrey’s blog goes back to July 15, 2009. And her posts are regular – at least one a day. That’s impressive and inspiring.

If I had the opportunity to sit down around the fireplace to talk with Audrey, mugs of coffee or hot spiced apple cider in hand, I know it would be a long conversation. I have so many questions. One is this: just how does she do it, every day for more than five years?

 

 

One thought on “fireside chat with audrey kletscher helbling

  1. Thank you for the sweet words regarding my Minnesota Prairie Roots blog.

    How do I do it? I am passionate about writing and photography. I cannot not write, if that makes sense. So I write nearly daily and those musings go into blogging.

    I appreciate that you’re part of my readership and that I make you want to keep coming back to read more about the place you once lived. Although I sometimes complain about Minnesota, mostly in winter, there’s no place I’d rather live. Love this place and the people who live here.

Leave a Reply

