zucchini – recipes needed

zucchiniThis week it looks like I’ll be baking and cooking with zucchini. I’ve got the zucchini. I need recipes.

Can anyone help?

That’s what I asked on Sunday and the ideas rolled in.

Sari and Morag gave me suggestions which I tried today (see links in comments below for the recipes). There is still enough zucchini for me to try Nandini’s recipe.

See the photos below of my efforts today.

Zucchini breadSince the first recipe I ever discovered to use up large quantities was for zucchini break, I started by making two loaves. One loaf went into the freezer. Here’s a photo of the other one before I dug in to slice off two pieces which I slathered with butter to go with my first cup of coffee of the day. Here’s the recipe on allrecipes.com.  But I can never leave a recipe alone so I added a half teaspoon of cloves to the flour mixture. And I had to bake the loaves for 10 minutes longer than the recipe stated. I had always thought my oven baked hotter than the temperature setting. I may have to rethink that.

zucchini casseroleNext I tried Morag’s zucchini casserole. I had to make a trip to the grocery store to get what I needed for this recipe and the next one, but as usual, I came home without one of the ingredients – the spring onions. But from my year of living in Romania where the shelves were always full – but of the same thing from top to bottom for widths of about six feet – I’ve learned to improvise. I just added in some chopped onions. Again, I had to bake it longer than the recipe stated, but that may be because I put it into the oven with the third of the recipes I made which probably slowed the baking time of both.

zucchini lasagnaAnd the third recipe was Sari’s zucchini lasagna. Since I couldn’t find riccota cheese at my local grocery store, I picked up cottage cheese instead. But once again, I missed picking up one of the ingredients, this time because I thought I had some in the refrigerator – the mozarella cheese. I substituted Asiago cheese. The baking time for this one was just right. Most of this one will go into the freezer, too.

All three results were delicious.

Thank you Sari and Morag.

If you need more zucchini recipes, here’s a list of 15 I found on the Gimme Some Oven blog.

 

8 thoughts on “zucchini – recipes needed

Leave a Reply

