purslane

Purslane (Portulaca oleracea) by anneheathen, on Flickr
Creative Commons Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.0 Generic License   by  anneheathen 

This morning I almost took a photo of my scrambled eggs breakfast to post because I felt smug about including leaves from a weed that continues to sprout up in my yard. That weed is purslane. Then, after eating my breakfast, I opened the San Diego Union Tribune, I found an article in the Food section with the headline “For a Weed, Purslane Is Quite Tasty.”  It is clear what my blog topic today should be.

Our gardener pointed out the weed as he prepared the area outside our fence for planting gazania flowers, a drought-resistant plant we knew wouldn’t take much effort. He mentioned it was edible, a good addition to salads. But I hadn’t expected to find my breakfast option hailed in the newspaper. I also didn’t know it could be purchased in farmers markets.

One of our neighbors calls it water weed because it pops up so quickly whenever it rains. Even with our current water deficit, purslane finds wherever there is any water, and it pops up. Earlier this summer, I stopped considering it a weed and started picking the leaves and adding them to my salads.

During my daily morning walks in the neighborhood, I check out the neighboring yards for purslane. I keep expecting to find some limp, dried patches, especially since the drought means most people aren’t watering their yards as much. But where the grass and other weeds are brittle and brown, purslane leaves are plump and broad.

Purslane, probably of Eurasian origin, grows throughout the United States.

Here are some recipes with purslane.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

